Media Release
For Immediate Release
Contact: Heather Weishaar, Outreach Director, 708-588-2282

Election Results Announced for Illinois Park & Recreation Association 
2020 Board of Directors and Section Leadership Positions


La Grange – The Illinois Park & Recreation Association (IPRA) is pleased to announce the election results for positions with the IPRA Board of Directors, as well as numerous leadership positions within the Section Boards. Congratulations to the following candidates:

IPRA Board of Directors

Central Region Representative: Derek Harms, Springfield Park District
North West Region Representative: Andy Thurman, Geneseo Park District

IPRA Section Board Positions

Administrative & Finance Director- Elect: Laure Kosey, Oak Brook Park District
Administrative & Finance Section Secretary: Matt Russian, Pleasant Dale Park District
Administrative & Finance Section Membership Council Representative: Bret Fahnstrom, River Trails Park District

Communications & Marketing Section Secretary: Sheri Potter, Warrenville Park District
Communications & Marketing Section Treasurer: Alison Geary, Wood Dale Park District
Communications & Marketing Section At-Large Representative: Juan Carlos Acevedo, Wheeling Park District

Diversity Section Director - Elect: Manuel Aguilar, NWSRA
Diversity Section Secretary: Katrina Place, NWSRA
Diversity Section Membership Council Representative: Jonelle Bailey, The Salvation Army Kroc Centers

Facility Management Section Director-Elect: Joe Zimmermann, Vernon Hills Park District
Facility Management Section Secretary: Emma Edmondson, Arlington Heights Park District
Facility Management Section Membership Council Representative: Katy McKinnon, Lombard Park District

Park & Natural Resource Management Section Secretary: Valerie Gerdes Lemme, Elk Grove Park District
Park & Natural Resource Management Section At-Large Representative: Shane Hamilton, Carol Stream Park District

Recreation Section Secretary: Karen Stille, River Forest Park District
Recreation Section Treasurer: Karyn Roth, Norridge Park District
Recreation Section At-Large Representative: Allison Oberst, Buffalo Grove Park District
Recreation Section Membership Council Representative: Mike Gianatasio, Berwyn Park District

Therapeutic Recreation Section Secretary: Colleen Cline, NEDSRA
Therapeutic Recreation Section At-Large Representative: Jorie Meyer, WDRSA
Therapeutic Recreation Section Membership Council Representative: Beth Corso, NEDSRA

‘On behalf of IPRA, we are thrilled to congratulate each of these leaders on their election and look forward to working with them to serve our members and our mission.’ – Debbie Trueblood, IPRA Executive Director. 

In late 2019/early 2020, newly elected association leaders will join their colleagues at one of two orientations, where they will review the Illinois Park & Recreation Association (IPRA) strategic plan, policies and procedures, and a detailed “State of the Association” presented by IPRA staff and Membership Council Representatives. All elected members will be sworn in during the IPRA Annual Business Meeting, held January 24, 2020 at the Hyatt Regency Chicago. 

Established in 1944, the Illinois Park and Recreation Association’s mission is to provide and promote exceptional standards of education, networking, and resources for all professionals in the Illinois Park, recreation, and conservation communities. For more information about IPRA, its board and mission, please call us or visit the IPRA website: